Coolamatong Golf Championships

20 0310 Champion _STE1716
Last year's club champion Ross Thompson (left) presents the trophy to 2020 Club Champion Brett Ainsworth.

By Steve Cuff

The Coolamatong Snowy Mountains Country Golf Club men’s championships were decided on Sunday after three rounds of intriguing competition.

Once the final putts dropped, Brett Ainsworth won the A grade and club championship, Laurie Whitehead B Grade and Geoff Murphy captured the C grade.

After the first round Brett Ainsworth may have thought he was out of contention as he trailed Charlie Filtness by six shots after Filtness posted a respectable 79 for his first round.

By the end of the second round this situation had reversed considerable after Filtness posted an out of character 90, and Ainsworth came roaring back with a fine 4 over par 75. This would also be the lowest round of the championship.

Heading into the final third round, Ainsworth had a commanding 8 shot lead over Ben Dutch and a further shot back was Filtness. Ainsowrth was never troubled and in the end ran away with the Club Championship finishing with a handy 77, and a total of 237. Filtness (80) finished second on 249 overall and Ben Dutch (83) third on 251.

Brett Ainsworth chipping to the final green. All Photos Steve Cuff.

In the B Grade Laurie Whitehead started off the first round with a very respectable 83 to set the pace, and the rest of the B grade field could not catch the wily veteran. Finishing with two final rounds of 85 and 90, Whithead’s overall 258 score was five shots better than Mick Bottom’s 263.

While the final B grade scores may have appeared it was cut and dried, it was far from.  Bottom was well in contention when he posted a sizzling 3 over par 38 on the first nine of the final day, but then let it slip considerably on the back nine, finishing the day with 88, of which he was very disappointed.

B Grade champion Laurie Whithead on the final hole.

Club Champions, Geoff Murphy C Grade, Brett Ainsworth A Grade and Lauire Whitehead B Grade.

It was daylight between C grade winner Geoff Murphy and runner up Roy Gabriele, with Murphy romping away from the field winning by 39 shots. With scores of 94 in the opening round and a steady pair of 98’s it was a resounding win.

In the handicap nett events, Ben Dutch finished A grade winner on 221. Ben has had a great year and as a result of playing virtually non stop golf and practising, has reduced his handicap considerably from mid 20’s to now be off 10. Ross Thompson, last year’s club champion finished runner up in A grade nett.

Steve Young won the B grade handicap with 233 nett in a close finish to Bob Key, 237. Key would rue his 2nd round score 97, nett 81, which cost him the chance of the top handicap spot.

In C grade Jim Kubacki won the handicap score on 242 from Dal Dutch on 266.

All members would like to thank the volunteer course workers and greens staff for presenting the course in the best possible condition for the championships. They continually do an outstanding job in course preparation. Thanks to Bob Key and Laurie Whithead for changing pins and cutting the greens in between the 2nd and 3rd rounds.

Anyone wishing to play golf, the course near Berridale is open for all players any day of the week where they can pay for the round via the honesty box at the tenth tee.

Memberships are also available and the club host open competitions on Wednesday and Sunday for players with handicaps.

On Saturday April 4 the club will also host an open charity day with all players welcome, handicap and non handicap. To register for the charity day call the golf club on 02 6456 3518.

Championship Results

Club Champion:        Brett Ainsworth    237

Scratch R/up:            Charles Filtness   249

Handicap Winner:    Ben Dutch          221  Nett

H/Cap. R/up.              Ross Thompson    231  Nett


“B” Grade

Scratch:                     Laurie Whitehead   258

Scratch R/Up.           Mick Bottom        263

Handicap Winner:    Steve Young        233 Nett

Handicap R/Up:        Bob Key              237 Nett


“C” Grade

Scratch Winner:       Geoff Murphy      290

Scratch R/Up:           Roy Gabriele       329

Handicap Winner:    Jim Kubacki       242 Nett

Handicap R/Up:        Dal Dutch          266 Nett


Nearest the pins Sunday.

3rd C. Starr

8th  L. Whitehead

15th C. Filtness

Longest Drive . Div. 1  C. Filtness

Longest Drive   Div. 2  Wayne Tuckwell


Sunday Winners:

Brett Ainsworth       70 nett

Ben Dutch                73 nett.

Geoff Murphy          79 nett countback from Bruce Hart


Sunday Ladies Results:

Winner Jan O’Halloran   90 Nett c/b

R/Up:  Kylie Woodcock  90 Nett

NTP 3  Maureen Roberts

NTP  8  Kylie Woodcock

NTP  17 Carolyn Major


Ladies Championships Presentation will be held on Wednesday 11 March after the Div 2 women’s championships are completed.


Mick Bottom chipping.

Tex giving this drive some extra.

Charlie Filtness chips to the 18 green.

Steve Young keeps his eye on this fairway shot.

Crafty veteran Ross Thompson.

Mark Wylie chips onto the green.

Clinton Starr drives on the first hole.

Big Bruce eyeing off a tee shot.

Brett Ainsworth is congratulated by Charlie Filtness on the final green.

Ben Dutch eyeing of an approach shot.

Bob Key blasting a tee shot.

Arthur Owens in the fairway.

Ben Dutch concentrates on the outcome of this shot.