Australia’s elite ski and snowboard athletes gathered in Melbourne in May to recognise the best achievements from the 2017-2018 season and the PyeongChang Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Olympic silver medallists Matt Graham and Jarryd Hughes (pictured above) were jointly awarded the prestigious Athlete of the Year Award. Paralympic gold and bronze medallist Simon Patmore received the Paralympic Athlete of the Year award.

Matt Graham has been a strong performer on the World Cup mogul circuit having previously won and podiumed on several occasions. Graham capped off a great year with a silver medal in his second Winter Olympics and wins this award for the second time.

Jarryd Hughes is a dual Olympian, won the silver medal in boardercross in PyeongChang and is a contender in every event he competes. His inspirational medal performance also saw him lead the Australian team out in the closing ceremony as the flag bearer.

In his first Paralympic Winter Games, Simon Patmore stole the show to break Australia’s 16-year gold medal drought when he won the snowboard cross at the PyeongChang Winter Paralympic Games. This achievement was instrumental in him winning Paralympic athlete of the year.

Paralympic athlete of the year Simon Patmore with teammates.

Making her Olympic Games debut with a stellar 4th place, 19-year-old mogul skier Jakara Anthony won Junior Snowsport athlete of the year.

Valentino Guseli confirmed he is a name to watch out for in the future with the 12-year-old snowboarder winning the Rising Star award after another great season in his age category.

Steve Desovich won coach of the year for the eighth time and was instrumental in the strong performance of the mogul team including Matt Graham’s silver medal.

Head Coach of the 2018 Paralympic Para-Snowboard team, Lukas Prem won Paralympic coach of the year and contributed immensely to Simon Patmore’s gold and bronze medals as well as Ben Tudhope and Sean Pollard’s PyeongChang Paralympic Games.

Peter McNiel was awarded Development coach of the year for the third time for his efforts in overseeing the junior squad and Canberra Grammar School was named as school of the year.

Ski and Snowboard Australia CEO Michael Kennedy said the 2017-2018 season was a standout for Australia’s top snow sport athletes, with many worthy nominees and winners.

“The athletes along with their coaches and support teams, have done a fantastic job across the domestic and international season, capped off with the amazing performances in PyeongChang.

“The multi medal performances at both the Olympic and Paralympic Games combined with the outstanding way our athletes presented themselves in the media is a credit to them and their programs.  The Australian public are becoming increasingly aware of how competitive we are as a nation on the international stage. There is an increasing expectation of success which can only be a good thing.

“The performances recognised at the Australian Ski and Snowboard awards symbolise both our current success and the fantastic prospects we have into the future,” he said.


Award Winners

Athlete of the Year –  Matt Graham and Jarryd Hughes

Paralympic Athlete of the Year – Simon Patmore

Junior Athlete of the Year – Jakara Anthony

Rising Star – Valentino Guseli

Coach of the Year – Steve Desovich

Paralympic Coach of the Year – Lukas Prem

Development Coach of the Year – Peter McNiel

School of the Year – Canberra Grammar School


Junior athlete of the year Jakara Anthony (right) with fellow mogul skier Madii Himbury.


Australian Olympic and Paralympic athletes.

Canberra Grammar are awarded School of the Year by Steve Cooper (left).


Development coach of the year Peter McNiel (right) with Ed Fortey.